Membership in Diversity Thunder Bay is open to any individual or organization interested in Diversity issues and in agreement with the organization’s Mission Statement. We are a community based, grass roots organization and are not incorporated.

Individuals and organizations are added to the membership list upon payment of an annual membership fee of $20 for individuals and $35 for organizations. For a membership invoice, contact Brenda Reimer . (In the case of students or others for whom the fee may be a deterrent to membership, it will be waived upon confidential request.)

You may also join Diversity Thunder Bay by transferring the membership fee via e-transfer to:

Name: Diversity TB
Email Address:
Security Question: “Purpose of funds?”
Password Answer: “membership”

Simply logon to your online banking, select e-transfer, and input the above. Tell us the name of your organization, or that you are joining as an individual. We’ll do the rest.

All members receive minutes, notices of meeting and information deemed to be of interest to the membership by email.

It is understood that not all prospective members are able to attend noon-hour meetings. A few members do not attend the monthly meeting but work on a subcommittee which meets at another time (e.g., Breakfast Planning Committee; Education and Communication Committee; Incidence Committee). Other members only attend the March 21st Breakfast but choose to maintain membership to show their support of Diversity’s goal. Average attendance at meetings is 15.

At an Annual General Meeting held each February volunteers from the membership agree to serve as officers for a three year term. Members also volunteer to chair one of the monthly meetings.

Prospective members are welcome to attend a meeting of DTB (held the 4th Wednesday of the month except for March, July, August and December) in the McNaughton Room, 3rd floor, City Hall at 12 noon to learn more about us before becoming a member.

Organization Members (representative)

  • Baha’i Community (Sandra Nunn) (Fritz Lehmberg)
  • C.A.M.A.T (Dianna Atkinson)
  • Canadian Mental Health Association (Sharon Pitawanakwat) (Joanne Otte)
  • Children’s Centre Thunder Bay (Janice Hogan) (Margaret Jensen-Palmer)
  • City of Thunder Bay (Lorraine McPhail)
  • Confederation College (Carol Rusak)
  • Elevate NWO (Tonya Muchano)
  • 55 Plus Centre Board of Directors (Susan Barnes)
  • Idea Sculptor (Maggie Chicoine)
  • Kinna-aweya Legal Clinic (Beth Ponka) (Melanie MacKenzie)
  • Lakehead Public Schools (Leslie Hynnes)
  • Lakehead Social Planning Council (Marie Klassen)
  • Nishnawbe Aski Legal Services (Fred Jacob)
  • OPTIONS Northwest (Carolyn Grgurich)
  • Our Black Youth (Julianna Hoekstra)
  • RBC (Cory Jesseau)
  • Redwood Park Church (Anneke Pretchuk)
  • Regional Multicultural Youth Centre (Moffat Makuto)
  • St Joseph’s Care Group (Lisa Beckwick)
  • St Paul’s United Church (Rev Rob Smith)
  • Students Union of Confederation College (Thomas McDonald) (Jodi Afonso)
  • TBT Engineering (Sarah Frenette)
  • TD Canada Trust  (Ayoola Olabimtan) (Katie Trigg)
  • Thunder Bay and District Labour Council (Evelina Pan)
  • Thunder Bay Art Gallery (Sharon Godwin)
  • Thunder Bay Catholic District School Board (Mirella Fata) (Kevin Kakagamic)
  • Thunder Bay Chamber of Commerce (Charla Robinson)
  • Thunder Bay Counselling (Sheri Fata)
  • Thunder Bay Emergency Shelter
  • Thunder Bay Indigenous Friendship Centre (Serena Essex) (Stephanie Symko)
  • Thunder Bay Multicultural Association (Cathy Woodbeck) (Michelle Lander)
  • Thunder Bay Muslim Religious Association (Walid Chahal)
  • Thunder Bay Police Services Board (Bob Simons) (Derek West)
  • Thunder Bay Public Library (Tina Tucker) (Robyn Medicine)
  • Thunder Bay Regional Hospital (Laura Mcgowan) (Donna Jeanpierre)
  • United Way of Thunder Bay (Sandra Albertson)
  • Wickham Consulting (Gord Wickham)

Individual members

  • Maneet Ahlawat
  • Paul Berger
  • Rev. Paul Carr
  • Ellen Chambers
  • Tara Gauld
  • Rebecca Johnson
  • Lynda Laurie
  • Bob Manson
  • Donna Nagy
  • Britney Olibris
  • Janice Oakley
  • Elizabeth Pim
  • Ed Prinselaar
  • Roopa Rakshit
  • Brenda Reimer
  • Alexiss Rusnak
  • Anna Torontow
  • Claire Verney
  • Frank Wilson
  • Kerry Youmans

Recent Articles

In Our Community

Breakfast Celebration